Help Please! How do I do this...

The place to talk about Stella4D, Great Stella, and Small Stella. Feel free to ask questions about them here.
thedusen

Help Please! How do I do this...

Post by thedusen » Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:32 pm

Hi there,

I'm new to Great Stella. I have a specific goal in mind, but after reading the documentation, I'm not clear on how to accomplish it, and am hoping I can get some help from you.

I'm designing a sculpture and want to spit out nets that I can send to the metal shop fabricating it. However, the shape is a bit odd. Here's what it looks like now:

http://mitchvandusen.com/shape.jpg

Here's what I'd like to do:

1. The top shape is a johnson solid: trapezoidal hexacontahedron. My desire is to slice off a part of the bottom, and create two polyhedrons emanating from whatever shape/face is left on the bottom after the cut.

2. I know you can add polyhedron to any other polyhedron, but I am unclear how to make the specific shape I'm talking about, both with the adjustments to the main johnson solid, and with an appropriate polyhedron coming out of the base. If i could at least output the top/main polyhedron and the bottom polyhedron, I would be happy and can work with that.

3. I want to scale it up, but what are the dimensions that scaling is measured in? Neither the manual, nor the actual software input specify.

I know this is long, so I'll sum it up:

1. How do I slice off a part of the top/main polyhedron?
2. How to I create a second (and ideally third) polyhedron emanating down from that?
3. What measurements are the scaling options measured in?

THANK YOU!!!!!!

Mitch

robertw
Site Admin

Post by robertw » Thu Jan 30, 2014 2:26 am

Hi Mitch,

Let me start with question 3. The "Scale->Distance Units" submenu lets you choose what units you are using (centimetres by default).

Question 1. The trapezoidal hexacontahedron is a Catalan solid, by the way, not a Johnson solid. That is it's a dual of one of the Archimedean solids.