software3d.com Forum Index software3d.com
Software3D Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Dual colors

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    software3d.com Forum Index -> Stella Feature Requests
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Dinogeorge



Joined: 13 Jan 2008
Posts: 71
Location: San Diego, California

PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 8:33 pm    Post subject: Dual colors Reply with quote

I could use a "color dual compound same" option in Stella4D for coloring dual compounds: color the components of the dual compound the same colors as the corresponding components of the original compound. In the current version, the colors of a dual come out oddly--sometimes they're random, and sometimes they're colored as above, but usually they're some kind of oddball mix of both.

For example, I just did a nice five-coloring of the scrunched compound of 25 icositetrachora, but when I dualized it to the strewn compound, one color was missing and one color appeared twice as many times as the others (so there were just four colors total). I have other examples, with more ico components.
_________________
Visit my geometry websites:

http://members.aol.com/Polycell/uniform.html
http://members.aol.com/Polycell/nets.html
http://members.aol.com/Polycell/next.html
http://members.aol.com/Polycell/glossary.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robertw
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Jan 2008
Posts: 394
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, not sure what that's about. When I try, it always colours duals of compounds with one colour per component. They are not inherited from the original model. I wonder what you're doing differently. Can you find a simple reproducable example?

Oh hang on, here's a thought. What do you use to change the colour of a part in the compound? If you just hit "c" (same as "Color->Replace Cell Color Throughout") it will only change colours in the base model, not the dual. But if you use "Color->Set Color of One Part in Compound" (no keyboard shortcut) then it will affect the colour in both the base and the dual. Maybe you use a mix of these methods and this has something to do with the behaviour you see? I guess if you stick to the latter method it will always produce the results you're after.

Rob.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Dinogeorge



Joined: 13 Jan 2008
Posts: 71
Location: San Diego, California

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 4:41 am    Post subject: Dual colors Reply with quote

robertw wrote:
What do you use to change the colour of a part in the compound? If you just hit "c" (same as "Color->Replace Cell Color Throughout") it will only change colours in the base model, not the dual. But if you use "Color->Set Color of One Part in Compound" (no keyboard shortcut) then it will affect the colour in both the base and the dual. Maybe you use a mix of these methods and this has something to do with the behaviour you see? I guess if you stick to the latter method it will always produce the results you're after.


Thanks Exclamation I usually use "replace cell color throughout" to get the first color, then change the others using "set color of one part in compound." The first color seems to be the one whose dual component gets screwed up. Keeping this in mind, I'll play around a bit and see what happens.
_________________
Visit my geometry websites:

http://members.aol.com/Polycell/uniform.html
http://members.aol.com/Polycell/nets.html
http://members.aol.com/Polycell/next.html
http://members.aol.com/Polycell/glossary.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robertw
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Jan 2008
Posts: 394
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now that I think about it, Replace Throughout should probably apply to base and dual together. Stella won't normally give base/dual faces any of the same colours unless it's a compound, so it would mostly only make a difference for compounds, and in that case you probably want the colour changed in both.

I think I'll make it that way. Then it won't matter which method you use.

Rob.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    software3d.com Forum Index -> Stella Feature Requests All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP